Here is an update by the Author at this site that appears, sadly, at the bottom of the page: “In America, we have a saying that the left hand doesn’t always know what the right hand is doing. Apparently my original story in January 2007 coincided with many safety improvements being made at Huashan. 

In other words, about the same time that I was scaring Internet readers to death with pictures and stories of the dangers at Huashan, Chinese authorities were making a concerted attempt to make the climb much safer.

However I was completely in the dark as to these improvements. Living in Texas, I wasn’t like I could look out the window and notice construction crews up on Huashan. Nor did the Chinese government bother to drop me an email.

People who first read my story were surprised to find the climb was nowhere near as difficult as my story had suggested. Some of these people reacted very harshly, criticizing me for deliberately misleading the entire world as to the true level of difficulty. In fact, in 2008 a paragraph in a Wikipedia listing about Huashan openly suggested I had made false claims about Mt Huashan in a desperate attempt to achieve some sort of Internet glory.”

